Cricket Featured Indian Premier League Sports

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly Highlights IPL 2020 is Likely to be ‘truncated’

Upon being a victim of the global pandemic COVID-19, the BCCI and the IPL franchise owners have decided to adopt a wait-and-watch approach over when and how to hold the IPL. At the same time they wish to prioritize the health and safety of the players and people involved in holding the IPL. Which is why, they are likely to discuss its schedule again after two-three weeks, solely depending on how this pandemic (novel coronavirus) situation unfolds in India.

The BCCI had deferred the start of the tournament until April 15, having met the top executives of all eight franchises including  Kolkata Knight Riders co-owner Shah Rukh Khan, Mumbai Indians owner Akash Ambani, Kings XI Punjab co-owner Ness Wadia. 

Further, the BCCI president Sourav Ganguly said that now that two weeks of the schedule was lost, there was no option but to hold a “truncated” IPL, and the board would “assess and monitor” the situation in the country on a weekly basis. Whether the IPL will be truncated in terms of days or matches remains to be seen.

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni with IPL Trophy

“If it is postponed till April 15, then in any case 15 days are gone, so it has to be truncated one,” Ganguly said. “How truncated, how many games I can’t say at the moment.”

In addition to that Wadia said that the BCCI, the franchise owners and host broadcaster Star Sports had decided to prioritise people’s health and that they were not concerned by any monetary downsides. Wadia further highlights he was prepared for the possibility of the IPL not happening at all if the situation did not improve.

Cricket Featured Indian Premier League Sports

‘Cannot Wait Forever’ – Mithali Raj Who Wants Women’s IPL from 2021

Mithali Raj highlighted her statement that the BCCI should not “wait forever” in order to organise the women’s IPL, and hence hopes the inaugural tournament of Women’s IPL to be held in 2021. Mithali, being the most experienced player in women’s cricket, suggested that the women’s IPL could initially commence on a “smaller scale”.

“I personally feel they should start a women’s IPL by next year, even if it’s on a slightly smaller scale and with some changes in rules, such as, say, have five to six foreign players in the first edition instead of four as is the case with the men’s IPL,” Raj told.

Raj has been the second major voice in Indian cricket to have urged the BCCI to start the women’s IPL sooner rather than later.

The BCCI, upon being acknowledged by the growing popularity of women’s T20Is, has scheduled a four-team contest in this year’s Women’s T20 Challenge with seven matches compared to last year’s four which was supposed to have run parallel to the men’s IPL playoffs, but the tournament has now been put on hold due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sunil Gavaskar too had a say when India lost to Australia in the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup last month, that it actually made sense to start the women’s IPL because that would only “earn” more younger talent that could help India win global titles.

However, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly after taking charge last October had said that a full-fledged women’s IPL was at least “four years away” for India’s talent pool has been perceived to be thin.

Mithali Raj

“You cannot wait forever; you have to begin at some point, and gradually, year by year, you can keep evolving the league and then bring it down to four foreign players.” Raj said.

In order to emphasise her point, she gave the epitome of a 16-year-old sensation Shafali Verma, who was one of the most impressive batters in the recent T20 World Cup.

Although Raj agreed with Ganguly but, like Sunil Gavaskar, she stressed that a women’s IPL would only boost the numbers and further suggested some of the existing IPL franchises who could own teams to facilitate the women’s tournament.

Cricket Featured Indian Premier League Sports

Iqbal Abdulla Picks his all-time IPL XI

We all know that the Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja and Siddharth Kaul has played together for the Under-19 Indian team. But the interesting thing is the former spinner of Kolkata Knight Riders, Iqbal Abdullah wa a also part of Virat Kohli’s Under-19 team in the year of 2008.

Over the years, the left-arm orthodox bowler, Abdulla has been a hot-pick at the auctions of IPL. He has been a part of various franchises in the history of Indian Premier League. Abdullah has played for Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals before donning the jersey of Kolkata Knight Riders. The spinner has played 49 games and could pick just 39 wickets at an average of about 30 in his IPL career.

During the quarantine period, the cricketers opens about their favourite captain, favourite moments, favourite team and many more. Iqbal Abdulla follows the same trend as he has announced his best 13-member squad of Indian Premier League.

The legendary South African, AB de Villiers and the in-form opener, Rohit Sharma will open the innings for his team. The most consistent duo of IPL – Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina will bat at third and fourth spot.

The destructive all-rounders, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Hardik Pandya are the finishers of the team, while the former Indian skipper, MS Dhoni will be the wicket-keeper, batsman and captain. He could pick only one specialist pacer in the form of Jasprit Bumrah.

While Ravichandran Ashwin and Rashid Khan will handle the spin duties, Ravindra Jadeja and Iqbal Abdulla will act as the 12th and 13th man of the team.

Here is the all-time IPL XI of Iqbal Abdulla:

AB de Villiers, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja (12th) and Iqbal Abdullah (13th).

Featured Fun Facts Indian Premier League

Do you Know who is the Only Player to Win a Hat-trick of IPL Titles? Neither MS Dhoni nor Rohit Sharma

The skipper of Chennai Super Kings, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and the Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma are arguably the two biggest names in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). While Rohit Sharma has won four IPL titles as a captain, the former Indian skipper, MS Dhoni has won most number of games as captain in the history of the cash-rich T20 league.

Rohit Sharma has played five finals of IPL – 4 with Mumbai Indians and one with Deccan Chargers. On the other hand, the CSK skipper has played nine IPL finals so far – 8 with Chennai Super Kings and 1 with Rising Pune Supergiant. Rohit Sharma, who led the Mumbai Indians to four IPL titles, has also won a title with Deccan Chargers as a player.

The skippers of both Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the two best players in the Indian Premier League. They holds a lot of records to their name. However, there is one player who holds a unique record of winning hat-trick of IPL titles and it is none other than Karn Sharma. The leg-spinners is the first and only cricketer to win three back to back IPL titles.

In 2016, when he was playing for Sunrisers Hyderabad, his team destroyed the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the finals. He had played five matches in that season, but he could not pick a single wicket.

Ahead of the 2017 IPL Auction, he was released by the Sunrisers Hyderabad. However, he attracted the franchises in the auction and he was bought by Mumbai Indians for Rs. 3.2 crore. He played a key role behind Mumbai Indians’ victory in 2017. He got to appear in 7 games and picked up 13 wickets.

Since there was a mega auction ahead of the IPL 2018, he was in the auctions again and CSK had to spend Rs. 5 crore to pick him. He could pick just 4 wickets from 6 games in 2018. In 2019, he had a chance to win one more IPL trophy, but the Mumbai Indians won a thriller in the last ball of the game.